September 10th was awesome!!

If you visited yesterday, you might remember I promised an embarrassing story- read on and you’ll get to it.

I’ve attended 8 shows and my back will never forgive me for walking (and running) in heels for so long. But enough about me, let’s handle the fashions of September 10th.

Ruffian: 

What: Womenwear

Where: Studio at Lincoln Center.

Who: Brian Wolk and Claude Morais

First Show of the day presented what the program explained as a decision to “explore our namesake RUFFIAN, the famous filly (female) racehorse and the society surrounding the world of racing”. That came across in the collection in every way, but since I’m a dumbass and watched the show before reading the program it occasionally seemed like an ode to the Spice Girls, in the best way possible.

But enough about this jibber-jabber, watch the images.

Shoes by Ruffian for Vince Camuto 

Brian Wolk and Claude Morais, a job well done.

Lacoste: 

What: Men’s & Womenwear

Where: Theatre at Lincoln Center.

Who: Felipe Oliveira Baptista

Sadly, my seats were terrible and this is the best photo I was able to take:

This was Felipe Oliviera Baptista’s first collection for Lacoste and it was a breeze of fresh air. I have been a huge fan of Lacoste ever since I can remember myself- it’s a brand that managed to do the impossible; Stay young, fresh and relevant for decades over decades. Felipe Oliviera Baptista’s collection, as it says in the program is “never nostalgic” which is very well put. The designer takes Lacoste to a whole new level and places it in the top as the most chic brand out there today. Baptista has a great understanding of what lines make men and women feel sexy and that’s exactly where he goes. Again, we meet a lot of admirable fearlessness that would make the late and great Jean René Lacoste extremely proud.

If we put the alligator business aside, I’d like to say well done to the people involved with the show’s production, from the video art to the music and all the front of house business (even though my seat was terrible)- Really, well done.

Pink Tartan: 

What: Womenwear

Where: Box at Lincoln Center.

Who: Kimberley Newport-Mimran

The collection was very obviously 60’s women (not girls, women) and men’s fashion inspired an in that way was very well done. But sadly, it was nothing we haven’t seen before. Don’t get me wrong, the collection was well executed, sexy and I would love to wear a lot of the items I’ve seen. I don’t mind a bit of nostalgia if it’s twisted into something brilliant and new, but that wasn’t it.

I’ll let you be the judge.

Charlotte Ronson: 

What: Womenwear

Where: Stage at Lincoln Center.

Who: Charlotte Ronson

Ok, it’s embarrassing story time:

So, as you may or may not know- I’m Israeli, which means a have a lot of nerve when it comes to jumping on opportunities. And in the business of opportunities, it’s not always a successful leap.

So, I got to the Charlotte Ronson show without RSVPing, cause I’m a dumbass, and I have a standing spot assignment. But I saw an open seat, next to Pat Fields, and it seemed like an opportunity. As soon as I sat down I put the gift bags in my my own bag, took my camera out and got ready for the show.

Then PR girl shows up and said “I’m sorry, that seat is saved for a guest” and I thought ‘oh well, I tried’  and climbed up the stairs to find a less glamorous seat. Not before PR girl climbed up the stairs after me and said “Oh, and can I have the gift bags you took?” I gave them back and went off to my standing assignment, in my heels. Trying to see who the seat was saved for.

After the show, I went to the girl who had the mentioned seat and said “Not only did I try to steal your seat, I tried to take your goodie bags too so I’d like to apologize, but you have people here who take very good care of you.” We shared a giggle, she said it was cool and we moved on. I thought it was hilarious.

Now that that’s behind us we can talk about the show.

The first few looks (as much as I could see from my mountain top position) looked like mom-jeans galore but it developed to be pretty cool and funky, a lot of clashing patterns which I love, very feminine vibe, florals, stripes, tie-dye- the works. Charlotte, you did ok.

ALDO Rise, Faster: 

What: Womenwear

Where: Milk Studios.

Who: Mark Fast

I’m confused. I’m not sure what is this collection, how I got there, what I was looking at and who would wear it- But I like it.

Alejandro Ingelmo: 

What: Footwear (Men & Women)

Where: Milk Studios.

Who: Alejandro Ingelmo

The absolute genius that is Alejandro Ingelmo is indescribable by words. I don’t know how much he knows about chiropractic business or comfort but I was never lucky enough to own a pair of his masterpieces. An architect of footwear.

Wing tip on snickers. Dare I ask for more?

Pamela Love: 

What: Womenwear

Where: Milk Studios.

Who: Pamela Love

I’m ashamed to say I’ve never heard of Pamela Love before walking into her presentation in Milk Studios- but I fell for her style at first site. It was a combination of western style and arabesque, full of exquisite details and amazing amazing pieces of jewelry. I can’t wait to pull from her.

Pamela and her models.

Erin Fetherston: 

What: Womenwear

Where: Milk Studios.

Who: Erin Fetherston

Here’s a bunch of one-word-ers to describe this collection (and presentation): Adorable, sexy, chic, feminine, strong, clever, ageless and timeless.

I really enjoyed this collection, Erin did it again!!

So that’s it for the 10th. It took forever to update this post… Sheesh.

Thank you for reading and as always, stay fantastic.

Love,

Karin Elgai